Music of Our Heart

Rick Johnson

I hope you are enjoying the music journalism A-Z series this month. Rick Johnson (1950-2006), CREEM Magazine rock journalist was someone I read often in my rock and roll music heyday. I had extended subscriptions to CREEM Magazine and Rolling Stone Magazine during the 70s and 80s. Each publication provided valuable  knowledge about  bands playing rock music with tenacity and passion.

I must admit these many years later aside from Lester Bangs and Rick Johnson I don’t recall many of the CREEM journalists I read.

I am educating myself in retrospect how pivotal a role Rick Johnson conducted at CREEM Magazine. He was widely known as Ranger Rick and Reek. He succeeded Lester Bangs at the magazine. He was the beloved Boy Wonder of CREEM’s new-wave-and-beyond phase–the star writer from what was arguably the greatest era of the greatest music ‘zine ever

Rick Johnson’s music writing contribution are captured in…

View original post 59 more words

Leave a Reply

